Prince and the Revolution – I Would Die 4 U

I’m not a woman
I’m not a man
I am something that you’ll never understand
I’ll never beat you
I never lie
And if you’re evil ,I’ll forgive you by and by, ‘cause…

You, I would die for you, yeah
Darling, if you want me to
You, I would die for you

“I Would Die 4 U” is a song by Prince and the Revolution, the fourth single in the US from their 1984 album, Purple Rain. The up-tempo dance song was a top 10 hit—the final one from the album—in the US, reaching number 8 on the Billboard Hot 100. The song’s lyrics evoke Jesus Christ’s message to his followers: “U—I would die 4 U, darling if U want me 2”; as well as, “if you’re evil I’ll forgive you”, “all I really need to know is that U believe,” and, “I’m your messiah and you’re the reason why.”

昨日パープルレインを見てから寝た。疲れた。約40年前の映画でしょうか。さすがにしんどい。I would die 4 U の歌詞に出てくるから、まあたぶん「僕は君のために死のう」という水谷豊風の熱血恋愛ソングかと思ったら、なんじゃらほい、多重人格かも。僕は男じゃない、恋人じゃない、僕は人じゃない、僕は鳩。成宮寛貴かよコイツ。欲望深き王子様だし。訳わかんないし。なんだか奥が深い不思議な曲みたいなことをどこかで読んだか聞いたかしたような気がします。

I Would Die 4 U

2022年ブリットアワードの新人部門で Rising Star Award を授賞し、NME アワード2022では The Walls are Way Too Thin で最優秀ミックステープ賞を受賞したと書いてあってもどれ程のものかを推し量れない Holly Humberstone (ホリーハンバーストーン) が I Would Die 4 U ダイ・フォー・ユー、プリンスをカバーしています。「80年代は、私にインスピレーションを与え続けてくれる時代。プリンスの “I Would Die 4 U を選んだ理由は、彼が私の一番好きなアーティストで、何らかの形で彼に敬意を表したかったからです。美しくシンプルでありながら、印象的な楽曲だと思うし、メロディーが一定なのも大好きなんです。この楽曲に自分なりのスピンを加えることができたのはすごくスペシャルなことで、皆さんも楽しんで聴いてくれると嬉しいです!」

Holly Humberstone – I Would Die 4 U

君のためなら死ねる、なんて人生で言ったことありません。あ、言われたこともありません。眠い。君のためなら死ねるって思える人より、君のためなら明日も生きてられるって思える人と出会えたらいいな、早乙女愛君。

Polly Mackey の UK オルタナ・ポップアーティスト Art School Girlfriend が君のためなら死んでもいいと流してる。無理せずゆっくり休んでね。Art School Girlfriend – I Would Die 4 U

君のためなら死んでもいいかなそんなの口先だけだけど君のためならできる気がした。口先だけどオマエのためなら死んでもいいぜ。安値感のあることば、君のためなら死んでもいい。明治時代の小説家二葉亭四迷は、「I love you」を「私は死んでもいい」と訳したとか。肌がざわざわする。愛が重いです。

あの人を守るためなら死んでもいいって本気で思ってた。でも、本当にそれでいいのかな。俺が死んだら君はどうするんだろう。想像はつくんだけどサ。いやいやつかないんだけどね。きょうはなにを食べようかな。Chvrches – I WOULD DIE 4 YOU

君死にたまふことなかれ、お前のために死んでやる。死んじゃうよオラオラ。お腹空いた。いやいや。ここで君のために死んでやる理由も義理もなんも一ミリもないんだから。アホが見るブタのケツだよね。

I Would Die 4 U

Nothing Compares 2 U
プリンス自身はジョニ・ミッチェルの「A Case Of U」をカバーしています。シネイドオコナーが歌った愛の哀しみ「Nothing Compares 2 U」はプリンスです

Sharon Van Etten – When I Die

I was talking to myself
Wondering how I was gonna die
Will I see the outside?
And would I realize?

Will you take me to the movies if I can’t run?
Will you see me make mistakes I never used to?